Copy-paste and R interactive sessions

I wanted to have a way of easily copying R commands from my interactive sessions. I often work interactively, while creating a pipeline or lab-book like readme in a separate file.

Of course, you can just copy anything that is on the screen and paste it. However, I want to have my readme file to be directly executable, so generally I want only to copy the commands. The solution was to write a small function, called xclip, which copies an arbitrary number of lines from history into the X window system primary clipboard. Naturally, it is not compatible with Windows or MacOS. However, I can copy now a fragment of recent history with one command and one mouse click (since the primary X window system clipboard runs without shortcuts).

The function actually is only a wrapper around the little xclip command utility, available for Linux.

xclip <- function (n = 5) 
{
    t <- tempfile()
    savehistory(file = t)
    system(paste0("tail -n ", n, " ", t, "|xclip"))
}
